It must be five o’clock somewhere!

I like to drink. I’m not shy about admitting it.  I’m an equal opportunity drinker. I’ll pretty much drink anything alcoholic, my favorite things being.

  1. Ketel One vodka
  2. Cocktails such as martinis, mojitos and other interesting mixed drinks including basil margaritas served at Las Palmas. 
  3. Craft brews especially Indian Pale Ales (IPA’s and Double IPA’s)
  4.  Lesbiana

Staceydrinksalesbiana

In my old life in Oakland, CA one of my favorite thing to do was go out with a group of women to a nice bar and enjoy a few cocktails. I  particularly loved ultra lounges (photo below) that played  down-tempo chill music, but sadly there are no ultra lounges in Zihuatanejo.

ultralounge

Grey Goose or Ketel One martinis are the perfect lounge cocktail.

Thankfully, even with my love of drinking, I have always had a relatively healthy relationship with alcohol. That being said, I went to great lengths to keep it healthy.  I had a few informal rules I tried to live by.  I wasn’t always perfect, but these are the general rules that guided my relationship with alcohol.

  • Not drinking at home alone (with rare exceptions)
  • Not drinking after having a bad day. (broken a few times)
  • Not drinking Monday-Friday
  • Not having more than 2-3 drinks in one sitting
  • Not pre-drinking at home before I went out for the evening

Then I moved to Mexico…Hello lushdomness (a great made-up word, right).

There are just too many opportunities to enjoy catching a buzz here. Why not have a margarita or a rum punch while sitting on the beach enjoying a book?  What’s a second pina colada going to matter when there are no obligations in front of me?  6:00 PM already?  Why I’d love to participate in 2 X 1 happy hour!

A beer overlooking the serene and exceedingly beautiful Bay of Zihuatenejo before we mosey to dinner?  What a lovely idea!  That sounds delightful!

See what I mean?

The opportunity to indulge in an orgy of small umbrellas is everywhere and the longer we live in Mexico, the more ex-pats I meet who share their stories of knowing other ex-pats who drink more than they probably should.  While researching this blog, I read several internet stories on ex-pat websites about alcohol and drug addiction facing ex-pats and after living here, I’m not surprised. Every day can be a party if you want it to be.

A few weeks ago, I was invited to a “ladies luncheon.”  Every participant was asked to bring a bottle of wine or champagne. I think there were  15 of us. By the end of a wonderful and festive lunch, there were not ANY bottles of wine or champagne remaining.  Now I hope the ladies invite me again because I had SO much fun and I don’t want anyone to think I’m judging them. To each his own, yes?  I’m simply describing my experience. After my 3 glasses of white wine and 1 (or was it 2) glasses of champagne, I  walked home, laid down, passed out, and woke up an hour later thinking it was the next morning.  It wasn’t. It was only 4:30 PM in the afternoon. Oops!   Mr. Andy had to set me straight.

After that party, I went on the wagon for six days.

I’m not thinking that I have a problem with drinking, but I would like to drink less for a wide variety of reasons including to reduce my caloric intake and to improve my overall health, but it’s hard because I really enjoy being a social drinker and there are all sorts of occasions to be social here.  But I’m better off monitoring my drinking because middle aged, highly educated women (me in a nutshell) are more prone to have problems with alcohol.

The citation below comes from the Institute of Alcohol Studies based in England, so the citation below focuses on UK women, but it’s interesting anyway. You can see more about their report, here.

Women and education

“There is evidence to suggest an association between education and consumption levels. A 2010 study based on the drinking habits of individuals born in 1970 found that the more educated women are, the more likely they are to drink alcohol on most days and to report having problems due to their drinking patterns. The relationship is stronger for females than males”

and  The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism has this to say.

Risky drinking for women is defined by more than three drinks on any single day (a standard drink is a 5-ounce glass of wine, a 12-ounce beer, or a 1.5-oz shot of distilled liquor like vodka or whiskey) or more than seven drinks per week.

I’m not even close to the seven drinks per week. I’m probably closer to 3-5,  but even so, I’ve decided to implement the same rules I had at home here. I’ll allow for some exceptions, like when we go away to celebrate our 20 year anniversary in December and stay at an all-inclusive resort, but for the most part, I’m going to be slinging back more mineral waters and coconut waters and less tequilas and Modelos.  A cold coconut always tastes good. Not quite as good as some other things, but…

 

How do you keep your relationship with alcohol healthy?   I’d love to hear from you especially if you are an ex-pat. Do you worry about how much you drink in paradise?  Feel free to share your stories.

6 thoughts on “It must be five o’clock somewhere!

  1. I do not understand why Gringos and Canucks pick coastal areas to live because of the heat, bugs, etc. General, physical discomfort. It’s so much nicer in the Highlands. I’ve long suspected that heavy drinkers tend to choose the beach because heat makes a beer or highball feel better. Reading online stuff tends to back up this notion.

    I used to be a daily drinker above the Rio Bravo, years ago. Never a real drunk, but I gotta buzz every single day after work. I quit completely in 1996, and life improved 100 percent. In all aspects. Food for thought.

    Like

  2. We live full time on the beach in Nayarit. And I can tell you there is nothing worse than seeing drunk seniors day in and day out. Kind of like seniors on spring break. The only problem is, they are here for 6 months. Yes, I used to drink more when I was younger but as I aged and got smarter, my drinking decreased. And I still have a good time. We aren’t going out like we used to simply because we don’t enjoy hanging out with what appear to be professional drinkers. This doesn’t mean we stay home and have no social life. Rather, we prefer to have people come over to our house.. And yes, I think the beach climate does encourage drinking. And if you are thinking you are drinking too much, you probably are.
    Good luck in your search for the happy medium. You will find it.

    Like

  3. One
    “The opportunity to indulge in an orgy of small umbrellas ” great line

    Two
    I can blame my overindulgence on a MBA

    I remember sitting down at a bar in Puerto Peñasco. The lady next to me had her hair in curlers, a bath robe and fuzzy bunny slippers on. A cigarette dangeled from her lips as she talked, hands clutching a Bloody Mary. A truely sobering moment

    Like

  4. Moderation is key to pretty much everything and it sounds like those rules have kept you in line. I pretty much set my limit of how much I drink before I head out, whether it’s with colleagues after a long week in the office or date night and I find that it works for me. I can enjoy my whisky, beer, or whatever and still go home without losing my mind (or wallet). But I’m not retired or living a life where I don’t have to show up at the office the next day, so I can’t say I wouldn’t want to sit at the beach enjoying drink after drink — though I reckon after awhile I’d get tired of it and want to make some kind of a routine for myself, including how much I drink – but that’s just me. I love reading what you’ve been up to but also your thoughts and observations. It’s almost like you’re here in the states again. But I sure am thrilled you’re enjoying life abroad.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First and foremost I must congratulate on you and your husband living your dream. I guess until someone is faced with their own mortality they really have no place to judge, I’m kinda in the same place as your r husbands were someone I love more then anything is facing a timeline. My mom is very sick,(stage 4 ovarian cancer) she is 64 and has been my best friend . I can’t imagine life without her. I make choices everyday as a 46 year old women based on what my mother would think. I was married for 19 yrs to a man who never appreciated me (infidelity was the norm) my self esteem was at an all time low. I met a man who made me feel so special but lately I feel takes everything for granted ( honestly I think I’m too nice and try to hard) I love that your doing things that make you happy. I don’t think that having a few drinks everyday in a beautiful place is something you need to concern yourself about, enjoy all those time with your husband and friends. My mom walked 3km everyday and ate great everyday and looked amazing, no one would ever guess her age, but now she’s fighting the fight. Enjoy the great company, fantastic views and the drinks that come with It! You know what they say “he without sin may cast the first stone” I’m not religious but I love that saying lol. This is your life, live it in a way that make’s you and your husband happy everyone else will have to understand. No explanation needed, CHEERS
    Lavarre

    Like

  6. Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I am so sorry to hear about your mom and her ovarian cancer diagnosis. Please private message me through Facebook and provide your email address. I would like to talk to you a bit more.

    Stacey

    Like

Leave a Reply

